“fourth bridge at this site”
This is the fourth bridge to be constructed at this site over the Ammonoosuc River. The first bridge was built in 1810 and carried away by flood in 1818. That same year, the bridge was replaced only to be destroyed by a flood in 1828. The third bridge lasted through 1849 when it was replaced by the current bridge. It was rebuilt again in 1977. This section of the river was used to float logs to the sawmill. Often, log jams presented a hazard to the bridge. In one case, dynamite was used to break up a log jam and although the blast was successful, logs had to be removed from the roof of the bridge.
Be the first to add a review to the Swiftwater Bridge.
- Sun - Sat: 12:00 am - 11:59 pm
Problem with this listing? Let us know.
Has a design vibe.
Credit Cards Accepted