“St. Elmo's population rode the last train out of town and never came back”
Founded in 1880, St. Elmo lies in the heart of the Sawatch Range. Nearly 2,000 people settled in this town when mining for gold and silver started. The mining industry started to decline in the early 1920s, and in 1922 the railroad discontinued service. The community is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as the St. Elmo Historic District. It is one of Colorado's best preserved ghost towns. St. Elmo is considered a ghost town, though it is still inhabited. Many tourists visit St. Elmo, and the former mining roads are now used as off-road vehicle trails. There are places to fish along Chalk Creek, which runs through St. Elmo. The general store is open during the summer, when tourists can rent off-road vehicles or buy items. Many buildings are extant, though the town hall and a few other buildings were destroyed by fire in 2002. Buena Vista Heritage is rebuilding the town hall to its original state.
Be the first to add a review to the St. Elmo Ghost Town.
St. Elmo Ghost Town
Hours not available
Problem with this listing? Let us know.
Credit Cards Accepted
Own or Manage This Location?
Claim this listing to keep your
information up to date.